Posted by: underseaencounters | March 15, 2010

I’m Back….

I’m afraid I haven’t been a very good blogger lately (okay, for the last 6 months). I’ve been spending a lot of time over at my frog blog, Frogs Are Green, created with my friend Susan Newman. But a couple of people asked me to continue this blog and I do miss my undersea friends. I’ve been ignoring them for too long.

To overcome  blog-writers’ block, I will generally write short posts with links to up-to-date news about undersea animals or will point you in the direction of new undersea books, films, TV shows that might interest you.

So without further ado…

For fans of Planet Earth, a new Discovery Channel series called LIFE premieres Sunday, March 21st, 8 p.m. e/p. The 11-part series, filmed in HD and narrated by Oprah Winfrey, covers reptiles and amphibians, mammals, fish, bird, insects, creatures of the deep, and primates.

I wasn’t able to find a video excerpt from the series of an undersea animal, but here’s a video from the reptile and amphibian episode. It’s about a toad that isn’t able to hop. So how does it escape from a hungry snake? You’ll have to watch the video to find out how natures compensates for a hop-less toad. A real leap of faith!

Leave a Reply

Categories

