Posted by: underseaencounters | August 5, 2009

Gone Whale Watching

I’m unplugging from the computer for a while as my family and I are going whale watching off Cape Ann, Massachusetts, where I’m really looking forward to seeing some whales and dolphins! Yesterday, 12 to 15 humpback whales, 5 finback whales, and 75 dolphins were seen on one of the whale watching trips!

Speaking of dolphins, there’s been quite a bit of buzz about the movie The Cove, Louie Psihoyos’s documentary about the international dolphin trade. I haven’t seen it, but I think I’d like to. (I have heard, however, that it’s pretty disturbing and graphic). You can read some critics’ and viewers’ reviews here.

Enjoy the rest of the summer!

Here’s a video from a Cape Ann whale watching trip:

Responses

  1. Have fun, Mary Jo!

    Great vid. We once spotted dolphins in Oceanside, California while walking along one of the LONGEST piers ever. It was a brief but beautiful sight.


Leave a Reply

Categories

