Posted by: underseaencounters | July 23, 2009

Summer at the Movies: Kelp Forests

For some reason this summer, I haven’t had that summery relaxed feeling I usually have. Maybe it’s the weather? My husband is convinced that global warming (or what is now euphemistically called “climate change”) is turning the climate of New England and the New York area into something resembling the Pacific Northwest. I love the Pacific Northwest. It’s probably my favorite place in the world. But cool rainy days all summer don’t do it for a New York/New Jersey girl like me. I need blistering hot days and a Carvel “Brown Bonnet” ice cream cone to feel as if it’s truly summertime.

So to promote summer relaxation, and to increase your appreciation of the amazing undersea world, I’m going to show undersea videos for the rest of the summer. Here’s a video about undersea kelp forests from JEAN-MICHEL COUSTEAU: OCEAN ADVENTURES, a PBS series. I’ve seen so many incredible PBS shows lately that I know I really have to become a member soon:

So sit back and enjoy the show. You don’t even have to turn off your cell phone.

For further reading:

51JNHKFF3JL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA115_

Responses

  1. I love that you’ll be posting videos this summer – what a great idea. I look forward to viewing them all. Thanks Mary Jo!

    • Thanks, Kathi!

  2. Was today hot enough for you? Heh. We walked to the Italian Festival and- oh, my God. I told Chris that I was thinking of you since you’d mentioned wanting that summery feeling and a Brown Bonnet…

    But what about Fudgie the Whale ;)?

    Ah. Sealife humor.

    • Ha ha…yeah, so much for my theory. But it did rain again, right? I liked the heat, though, because it seemed like summer…


Leave a Reply

Categories

