Posted by: underseaencounters | March 30, 2009

Save the Sharks!

Interest in sharks seems to be an ongoing theme with my family.

My son Tim loved sharks and read every book published about them, lived for Discovery Channel’s Shark Week on TV, and had dozens of plastic sharks.

51zb2wjveyl_sl160_aa115_

We visited the Shark Encounter at a couple of Sea Worlds.

images

My husband saw nurse sharks in Florida in the wild. (Nurse sharks are harmless to people.)

images-2

My son Jeremy went shark cage diving in South Africa.

images-11

I wrote (with David Hall) a book called Predators of the Sea, in which sharks are featured. I also tried to write a children’s book called Sharks: From Angel Shark to Zebra Shark. I managed to find a shark species for every letter of the alphabet, but I got stuck on Q and X!

So, I’ve been educated for years and years about shark issues (mainly from Tim): how terrible shark finning is, i.e., cutting off the shark’s fins to use in soup and then throwing the shark back in the sea to die; how only a few shark species are dangerous to people; how the sea needs predators to maintain healthy ecosystems. I’m not sure, however, if this message has yet filtered out to most people.

While websurfing I came across a good post: “Appreciating Sharks and Other Predators in an Ecosystem” on the Urban Science Adventures blog. [My book is mentioned, which was a nice surprise]

As my son Tim said with passion when he was 9 (and still says, now that he’s 19): SAVE THE SHARKS!

Responses

  1. It’s nice to know that your son keeps you up-to-date on shark issues :). And that your book was mentioned in a different site– very cool.

    The information I’d received surrounding the shark fin was vague. I’ve never eaten it, but I’m happy to say that I never will. (I also don’t eat veal.)

    Great pictures!

  2. Thanks, Deb, for the comment! I would like to see a shark in the wild some day (just not a Great White, tiger shark, or bull shark, unless I’m in a cage!)

  3. […] Sharks are “charismatic megafauna,” those big exciting animals that garner a lot of attention. But sharks aren’t CUTE animals and so people don’t get emotional about them like whales and pandas, except perhaps people like my son Tim. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

